Share Device(s) via QR Code

You can share device(s) to another Hik-Connect user via QR code. You can also select the permissions granted to recipient(s) to determine which operations the recipient(s) can perform on the device(s).

Note:

For video instructions, please visit How to Share Devices via QR Code.

  1. Select device(s).
    • For sharing a single device: In the device list, find a device you want to share, and tap > Share on the device card.

    • For sharing device(s): On the device list page, tap > Share Device, and select device(s).

  2. Tap Share with User.
    Note:

    You can share device(s) with a service provider to let the service provider set up and manage your device(s). See details in Invite a Service Provider to Manage Devices.

  3. Tap Share via QR Code.
  4. Select device permissions to be shared with the recipient, and tap OK.
    • Check All Permissions to grant all available permissions to the recipient.

    • Tap the device name, and then select permissions to grant the selected ones to the recipient, and finally tap .

    For example, if you select Live View and Remote Playback, the recipient will have the permissions to view live video and play back the video footage of the device.

  5. Generate a QR code.
    • After you set permissions, a temporary QR code will be generated, which will expire in 300 seconds.

    • To share the selected device(s) and permissions this time again in the future, you can tap Upgrade QR Code to upgrade the QR code to a long-term QR code.

      1. Set a password for the QR code, and after a recipient scans the QR code, the recipient will be required to enter the password.

      2. Select how many days that the QR code will be valid for.

      3. Select the number of allowed recipients.

      4. Tap OK, and a long-term QR code will pop up.

  6. Let the recipient use the Hik-Connect Mobile Client to scan the QR code.

    You will receive a notification about the successful sharing on your Mobile Client.

    The device(s) will be shared to the recipient. The recipient will be able to view the device(s) in the device list.

  7. Optional: Perform further operations.
    Option Description

    Edit Device Permissions

    1. Go to Me > Manage Sharing Settings.

    2. Tap the device and then edit the device permissions granted to the recipient.

    Stop Sharing

    1. Go to Me > Manage Sharing Settings.

    2. Select My Device, Other's Devices, or Previous QR Codes.

    3. Tap the device to enter the Sharing Details page and then tap Delete or .

    Edit Long-Term QR Code Details

    1. Go to Me > Manage Sharing Settings > Previous QR Codes.

    2. Tap QR Code Details.

    3. Tap to edit validity and maximum recipients.